How to Choose What to Read Next?

Photo Credit: The Pop Culture Divas

When I was younger I didn’t have many books. I’d read whatever I could get my hands on. I read text books from back when my parents were students, books about war – gun, planes and spies featured heavily in any book my brother owned and I read his entire library at a young age – and the occasional Mills and Boon romance novel that I found when I was visiting my parents. There wasn’t a lot of choice – I was just greedy for books and read without any real discernment.

These days I’m much more selective in my reading practices. Especially with online book stores – I don’t even need to get out of my pyjamas to browse millions of titles and one click gets them sent directly to my door.

With all those books out there, I decided to share how I decide to choose which books I choose to read.

  • Ask friends!

I’ve found some of the best books I’ve ever read have been recommended for me by friends and family. They know what I like and what I dislike. Often they even own copies of the books they’re suggesting so I can just borrow them without having to go out and buy a copy for myself.

  • Seen the movie? Now read the book!

It’s amazing how many of my favourite films were books first. It always surprises me just how many movies started off their lives as books. Many times I see a film and not until the credits and I see “Inspired by a true story” do I even realize that there was a book first. For all the dozens of books I’ve read and films based on the books I’ve seen, typically I find that I consider the book to be the better version. I recommend Google searching the titles of some of your favourite movies just to see if they were books first and is just waiting to be added to your to-read list!

  • Join a Book Club

There are millions of book clubs all around the world. There are ones devoted to specific genres or even certain authors (much like in The Jane Austen book club which coincidently is a book that has had a film based upon it). Either face to face or online, these book clubs offer many suggestions of what to read. I belong to a few book clubs. Typically they meet once a month and along with the recommendations, I’ve found that it’s a lot of fun to discuss books and literature with people who are as passionate about reading as I am.

  • I’m not sure I could live without the Internet…

I love the Internet but I’m not so sure my bank balance agrees. Thanks to the internet and sites like goodreads.com and amazon.com which give me recommendations of what to read taking into account authors I like and series I’ve read, I’m never at a loss of what to read next. I’ve also found sites like whichbook.net – just a few clicks of the mouse and it will give you many ideas of what book it suggests you read next.

  • Magazines/Newspapers

I often flip straight to the book recommendations in magazines and newspapers that I read. I don’t always select any of the books they review but I enjoy checking what is out there. The New York Times Best seller list is always a good one to check out for inspiration.

 

Leave a Reply

