Book Review: That Voodoo That You Do by Jodi Redford

Book Review: That Voodoo That You Do by Jodi Redford (That Old Black Magic #1)

Format: ebook

First Published: October 12, 2010

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Erotic Romance, Shifters, Witches, Zombies.

Sensuality Rating: Burning!

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

For ten long years Griffin Trudeau has managed to keep his paws off Jemma Finnegan, best friend and leading star of his kinkiest fantasies. As her appointed cat familiar, indulging those fantasies with the delectable witch is strictly forbidden. But when Jemma shows up at his door with seduction in mind, control goes right out the window.

Too late he realizes making love to Jemma is the trigger that launches a zombie apocalypse.

Jemma’s been dealt a double whammy: she’s just discovered she’s a witch. And Griff has been hiding whiskers and a tail. Oh, and if her life wasn’t crazy enough, a dead voodoo queen needs her blood to raise a legion of zombies.

There’s one plan that might work to increase Jemma’s powers so she can put an end to the looming holocaust. A sexy threesome with Griff and Logan Scott, a werewolf familiar with a history of rubbing Griff’s fur the wrong way. A cat and a wolf playing nice, much less sharing? It’ll take a miracle.

Warning: A witch, tiger and wolf doing naughty things. A dead voodoo queen doing evil things. And zombies doing zombie things. Get your shovels ready.

Review: 

Oh my! I wasn’t expecting this book to be as funny as I found it. From the first page I was laughing. And it’s not just funny – it’s exciting, it’s interesting and it’s earth-shatteringly hot! 😉

The story starts with Jemma Finnegan, a woman with a plan, setting out to seduce her super hunk of a best friend of ten years – Griffin Trudeau. Next comes some delicious and literally earth moving kitchen lovin’, the beginning of a zombie apocalypse and that’s just the first chapter!

From the start I loved the chemistry between Griff and Jemma. The comradeship of having been best friends for ten years was evident and the tangible sexual tension between the two was electric. I was rooting for them as a couple. And if I had any doubts of Jemma as a heroine they were wiped away when she tried to take down a zombie using a ThighBlaster.

The secondary cast of Clarissa (the coven leader) and the other witches (Mrs Peach, Gloria) were delightful. I loved the banter and pop culture references they delivered.

And Logan Scott? [He’s] the guy your mama warned you about. The ultimate biker boy complete with the mirrored shades, barbed wire tattoo and snug jeans – I loved him. Normally I don’t like any character that threatens the Happily Ever After that I desire but I loved what Logan brought to the story. The fact that he brought out Griff’s jealous side… that is just a bonus!

After finishing the book, I’m still a little unsure as to why the ménage à trois strengthened Jemma’s magic but it was such an hot and steamy scene that I’ll let it slide. I really enjoyed the creativeness of the sex scenes. And the humour that was present throughout everything.

The witch/zombie/shifter storyline was exciting too – this book, whilst mostly is about the romance and the sex also has more too it – and it kept me guessing. I loved how Jemma grew as a character. She became the kick-ass heroine that her witchy ancestors (well… most of them) would be proud of.

This is probably the funniest erotic romance that I’ve ever read. I am so excited about the next book in the series (which is out and I have already bought!) being about Clarissa and Logan. The little moments of those two were some of my favourite interludes in the story. I recommend this book for anyone who likes light hearted storyline and zombie apocalypses mixed in with their erotica.

Rating: 

4.5 out of 5

Purchase book at:

Amazon (kindle version) / Samhain Publishing

Leave a Reply

