Booking Through Thursday: Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme that asks a book/reading related question.

This week’s question is: Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

My answer?

I don’t think so. Not seriously. Most books that I think could have been a lot better are the ones with characters and stories that just don’t capture my attention. I couldn’t stick with them long enough to write them better. Writing a book takes so much time! And thought! For the books that when I’m at my most judgemental and I think I could have written better – I would not be able to have the sort of long term relationship  with them that rewriting them would require. I think I’d probably lose patience and then end up writing them more poorly than they were written in the first place.

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

  1. You know I get your point. i get tired of myself after a while I can’t imagine creating a character and sticking with them for long long periods of time. here’s my BTT

  2. My first thought was, “That’s a pretty presumptuous thing to think!” Then I realized that this was exactly my feeling about Twilight. Oops. But by writing it better I mean I would have given it an actual plot and a stronger protagonist. Whether it actually turned out as a brilliant masterpiece would be a different question.

    In general, I usually think that I could have EDITED books better. You know, let the author do all the hard work of coming up with a plot and characters and world, and then just tidy it up and say, “This part could be more believable” or “The dialogue is a little stilted.”

    • Haha! Twilight was one that came to mind for me too.

      I often wonder how some things get past editors. I’d be hopeless at editing. My spelling and grammar are atrocious. I depend on the red wiggly line for spelling and I use far too many commas.

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • I actually did sit down and plot out a vampire book for amusement when I was done. Maybe I should have actually written it. Someone would have published my mediocre work in the whole vampire craze! I don’t remember if there was much romance in it, though. I think it had more political intrigue and action.

      • No romance? Isn’t that all Twilight was? The vampires and action were very much secondary.
        I forced my brother to read it because I needed someone to complain about it too. He’s still waiting for the fight scene from Breaking Dawn to happen. So much build up then… nothing.

        I think I’d probably enjoy your version more.

Leave a Reply

